Model Role Details

Belly (Ahmad Balshe)

Belly (Ahmad Balshe)

Sector : Cultural Figures , Singers / Musicians

Personal Info

  • Country of residence: Canada
  • Gender: Male
  • Born in: 1984
  • Age: 31
  • Curriculum vitae :


Ahmad Balshe, better known by his stage name Belly, is a Palestinian-Canadian Juno Award-winning rapper.

Born in Jenin, Palestinian territories, his musical career has been based in Ottawa, Ontario. In addition to a Juno, he has won three MuchMusic Video Awards and has twice attained a top chart position in the national Much Music Countdown. His stage name of Belly/Rebellyus was derived from the term "rebellious."

His first single "Pressure" featuring Ginuwine peaked at the10 position on Canadian CHR radio charts, and 1 on MuchMusic's Video chart. In April 2007, Belly released the video for his second single "Don't Be Shy" featuring Nina Sky, as well as the video for "History of Violence" Directed by Martin Verigin and Jeffrey Hagerman. The video remains his most controversial record to date. In "History of Violence," Belly explains his views on the Israeli–Palestinian conflict and the War in Iraq.

Shortly after, he released "I'm the Man" featuring Kurupt produced by Footage Entertainment. it was premiered as the "Big One" on MuchMusic station. He also released a video for "Smells Like Money" (produced by Whosane?) on MySpace in early October 2007.

In late October 2007, his third single featuring Mario Winans entitled "Ridin'" was released. The video features Mario Winans, model KD Aubert, who plays Belly's lead-girl, and Dr. Benjamin Chavis.

During the 2007 NHL Playoffs, as the Ottawa Senators were competing, Belly released a single entitled "Bandwagon" (produced by Whosane?). When the Senators made the Stanley Cup Finals, Belly released a second version of the song which featured goaltender Ray Emery.

His debut album, The Revolution, was released on June 5, 2007. This double disc album was divided into two sections: "The People" and "The System." "The People" contained more in depth songs, such as "History of Violence" (produced by Whosane?), "Follow Me," and "Revolutionary," where he challenges his listeners to discover the facts regarding the Middle-East situation. Other songs on this disc include "People Change" (produced by Whosane?), "Leave me Alone," where he talks about his long time friends and the memories that he kept from them. "The System" contained his hit singles "Don't Be Shy," "Ridin'," and "Pressure"

The Revolution achieved Gold sales in Canada and won the 2008 Juno Award for Rap Recording of the Year. Singles from The Revolution won two MuchMusic Video Awards for Best Rap Video; "Pressure" in 2007 and "Ridin'" in 2008.

A major police raid was conducted at the artist's home in Greely, Ontario on August 15, 2008 based on a search warrant to seek firearms there. However, the only items of note found in this raid were three BB guns that were purchased, on sale, from a Canadian Tire store. No charges were laid and Belly later commented that the raid "was a waste of Ottawa taxpayers' money, but now my neighbours can see that I don't have anything to hide."

Belly is currently in Miami, Florida working with some of the industry’s most notable producers and artists. (Jim Jonsin, Blackout Movement, Snoop Dogg, Diaz Brothers, DJ Infamous, Da Heala, Whosane, Mario Winans and more). The first single "Hot Girl" featuring Snoop Dogg was released in August 2009, alongside a video. Second single "To The Top" featuring Ava was released in April 2010, the video is in making. Third single called "Back Against The Wall" featuring Kobe. On May 12, Belly confirmed via twitter the completed artwork for the album and track listing, Belly also stated a new single "To The Floor" was done and completed with major Canadian artists 'Fresh City'.

A new mixtape was released entitled "DJ Smallz Presents: Back For the First Time Vol. 1". Artists featured on the mixtape are Snoop Dogg, Drake, Kurupt, Stack Bundles, Bynoe and Belly’s brother Truth.

In 2011 a new mixtapge gonna be released entitled "Sleepless Nights" tracks like Murder Music, Kill Bill, Try Again, Pass the Dutch, Back Against the Wall, Must Be Nice are on the mixtape.


Achievements and Awards

Studio Albums:

First studio album
Released: June 5, 2007
Label: CP Records
Format: CD

Second studio album
Released: TBA
Label: CP Records
Format: CD


2007: Pressure, Don't Be Shy, I'm the Man, Ridin

2008: Get to Know You

2009: Hot Girl

2010:  To The Top, Back Against The Wall, Make It Go

Collaboration in singles by other artists:

1- "Rush the Floor" by Massari feat. Belly (2006) 
2- "Private Dancer" by Danny Fernandes feat. Belly (2008) 
3- "Amnesia" by Caspian feat. Belly (2009) 
4- "Automatic" by Danny Fernandes feat. Belly (2010)

Official mixtapes

1- DJ Kool Kid Presents: Death Before Dishonor: Vol. 1 (2005) 
2- DJ Kay Slay Presents: Death Before Dishonor: Vol. 2 (2006) 
3- Big Mike Presents: Death Before Dishonor: Vol. 3 (2007) 
4- DJ Smallz Presents: Back for the First Time Vol. 1 (2009) 
5- DJ Ill Will Presents: Sleepless Nights (2011)

Awards & Nominations: 

1- 2007: Won MuchVibe Best Rap Video for Pressure 
2- 2008: Won MuchVibe Best Rap Video Ridin' Ridin 
3- 2008: Won Juno Award Hip Hop Recording of The Year 
4- 2010: Won VideoFACT Indie Video of the Year "Hot Girl"

  • Marital status :
  • City :
  • Status :
  • Years in active : From To